Local Government Areas

Local Government Areas (LGA) are the local council areas of Australia. The states and the Northern Territory each have many local governments within their borders. The state or territory government defines the powers of the local governments, and decides what geographical areas those governments are responsible for.

The naming conventions for local governments vary across Australia. They can be called cities, shires, towns, or municipalities, but they are still controlled by the state or territory government above them.

In the Australian Capital Territory, the responsibilities usually handled by local government are administered by a department of the territory government.

Star Rating and Floor Area Ranking by Local Government Area

The following chart ranks both star rating and floor area by LGA within a State. Clicking on the top of either column will reorder the data alphabetically, highest and lowest. You can also search for a specific LGA using the Highlight LGA Name option on the right hand side.

Nationwide House Energy Rating Scheme
Supported by data from the Nationwide House Energy Rating Scheme (NatHERS) www.nathers.gov.au